Policy Partnership on Science, Technology and Innovation

APEC’s Policy Partnership for Science, Technology and Innovation (PPSTI) envisions that the APEC region will have achieved innovative economic growth by 2025. For details on this, read the PPSTI Strategic Plan 2016–2025.

The PPSTI’s mission is to “support the development of science and technology cooperation as well as effective science, technology, and innovation policy recommendations in APEC through collaboration between government, academia, private sector and other APEC fora.”

Formerly known as the Industrial Science and Technology Working Group (ISTWG), the partnership was formed in 2012, when APEC agreed to broaden the group’s mandate to include innovation policy development and to intensify cooperation among governments, businesses and academia. When the ISTWG was renamed to the PPSTI, a new terms of reference outlining the PPSTI’s mandate and goals was endorsed.

Last page update: October 2019

Current Activities

Women in STEM Principles and Actions

During the Third Senior Officials’ Meeting (SOM3) of 2019, the PPSTI developed the “Women in Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (STEM) Principles and Actions,” which highlight the importance of encouraging women’s participation in STEM and of enhancing their capabilities and opportunities in these fields. Three principles were developed:

  • Principle 1: Women in STEM Are Critical to Sustainable Economic Growth and Robust Science and Technology.
  • Principle 2: Increased Representation of Women in STEM Matters.
  • Principle 3: Overcoming social, cultural, and economic barriers Women in STEM face is important.

To learn more about this initiative, download this document.

The 2019 APEC Science Prize for Innovation, Research and Education, or ASPIRE

The APEC Science Prize for Innovation, Research and Education (ASPIRE) is an annual award that recognizes young scientists who have demonstrated a commitment to both excellence in scientific research, as evidenced by scholarly publication and cooperation with scientists from other APEC member economies.

Each year, the chairing APEC member economy provides a theme for ASPIRE.  For its host year of 2019, Chile selected "Natural Laboratories” as the nominating theme, which focuses on scientific developments through the discovery in nature, or “natural laboratories.”

To read more about the award, the criteria for eligibility and the selection process, go to www.apec.org/aspire.

Related News

See all news


Events and Collaboration

PPSTI has enjoyed cross-fora collaboration with the Economic Committee and Human Resources Development Working Group and has forged new connections with ABAC and the International Association of Science Parks.

The Internet of Vehicles

The Internet of Vehicles (IOV) is an integrated computer network supporting intelligent traffic management, dynamic information service and vehicle control.


Contact Us

Mr Daniel DUFOUR

PPSTI Chair 2020 - 2021
Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada

Mr Chen Linhao

Vice Chair
Department of International Cooperation
Ministry of Science and Technology People's Republic of China Address: 15B Fuxing Road, Beijing 100862, China


Program Director